Learning Markdown

· ektaynot's blog

I started university couple months ago. Even though in my current course we don't take notes, I wanted to learn different ways to take notes. I'm much more faster and accurate with a keyboard than with a pencil. So I wanted to mainly focus on computer note-taking.

Because of my interest in blogs and academic papers, I was familiar with technologies such as LaTeX, markdown, org mode etc. A good note-taking program has to have a few things.

Because my field of work does not use mathematical formulas, I though I wouldn't need a complex language such as LaTeX. It leaves me with markdown and org mode, but because I am mostly a vim user org mode is out of the question too. This leaves me with markdown.


# So, What is markdown?

Markdown is a text-to-HTML conversion tool for web writers. It can make writing text for the web a breeze and simplify formatting.

To simplify, it is a tool to write fancy text.

# How I plan to use it:

I am planing to use it with lunarvim. I am also using spellcheck and an extension called markdown-preview.nvim. This extension helps me to preview the markdown file. my markdown setup